C l e a n

Not drinking.
Spill // Friday, Nov. 07, 2003

Last night, in my drinking dream, I was meeting my sister and my mother for lunch at a restaurant. They hadn't arrived yet, and I ordered a huge gin and tonic from the bar. I figured they might notice I was drinking, but that they wouldn't say anything to avoid making a scene. I also thought maybe they would think it was water. We got our table and I tried to put down the tall, thin glass so that their attention wouldn't be drawn to it. I couldn't get it to stand steadily on the table. I realized the bottom of the glass was slightly curved. I tried to lean it up against something on the the table, but it threatened to tip over and I knew that would cause a disturbance and draw everyone's attention to the fact I was drinking. But I couldn't keep holding it all through the meal, because that would be suspicious too. What to do? What to do?

Usually my drinking dreams don't carry much of a message besides "drinking = failure and shame." This one impressed me though. It seems kind of deep. It makes me seem kind of deep. Of course, the message is still failure and shame (in a deep kind of way).

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004