C l e a n

Not drinking.
Thinking // Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2002

A friend recently told me, about drinking: �Just don�t think about it so much.� Easy to say. But, to be fair, while I can�t help thinking about it, nobody forced me to create a Web site about it. Maybe I do think about it too much.

At a Smart Recovery meeting, someone once mentioned some advice they�d picked up from a 12-step group or a therapist. The advice was to wake up each morning and tell yourself, �The most important thing for me to do today is to stay sober. That�s my number-one goal.� After some consideration, the group rejected this wholeheartedly. The general consensus was that sobriety wasn�t anyone�s number-one goal, but rather a portion of or a stepping-stone to a larger goal, something along the lines of �a happy life.� I agree with that.

I�m thinking about thinking too much because of a resurgence in guilty drinking dreams. Maybe I am bringing them on. In the one I had last night, my friend was upset with me because I�d lost her ATM card and was in some kind of unspecified trouble with the law. The room was a mess. I woke up feeling crappy about it. It�s raining today. The bus I�m riding on leaks and my paper is wet. That�s Wednesday for you.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004