C l e a n

Not drinking.
Lazy // Sunday, Aug. 25, 2002

I�ve been unusually lazy the past two weekends. I tried to blame it on the heat, but while I bitched about the heat like everyone else it wasn�t really bothering me. Then I came up with a better excuse. Here it is: I�m not becoming lazier -- I�m reverting to a more normal level of weekend activity.

When I first quit drinking, weekends were the worst. That was partly due to a brilliant arrangement I made with myself about three years ago, when I started my current job. I agreed I would stop going out on weeknights as long as I could drink straight through the weekend. As a result, I drank at home on weeknights and no longer felt guilty about starting to drink at 10:00 a.m. on Saturdays. Everybody was happy.

When I quit drinking, I had no idea how to fill an evening, let alone two whole weekend days. My initial experiments in extended sleeping were a failure. I knew I couldn�t sit around the house thinking about the fact that I was not drinking. So I became a whirlwind of activity. I joined a volunteer group. I started running. I cooked long, complicated recipes. When I couldn�t think of anything productive to do, I went to the mall and looked around. When that got old I started going to malls in other states.

It worked, and it was the right thing to do. The last two weekends, though, I haven�t felt like doing much. I�ve spent a lot of time reading and playing on the computer. I�ve embarked on several ambitious eating projects. I�ve decided to consider my laziness a small victory. I�m able to do nothing without going crazy for the first time in six months. Cheers.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004