C l e a n

Not drinking.
Individuality // Friday, Sept. 20, 2002

I�ve been thinking individuality is really overrated. At least, I�ve wasted a lot of time and effort on it, not even including high school. After graduating from college, I concentrated a lot of mental and emotional energy on not conforming, not being boring, and not fitting the mold I imagined was waiting for me. I mean, I didn�t do anything to prevent it -- I just worried about it.

I never did anything to prevent it, unless you count being a drunk. I wouldn�t go so far as to say that wanting to be different drove me to drink, but I definitely used it as an excuse to continue. Many mornings on my way to work, feeling like ass, I placated myself by thinking, �I bet nobody else on this train was [insert skanky drunken episode here] at 4:00 a.m. this morning.� I looked upon my heavy drinking and late nights as an achievement in single-mindedness and determination that set me apart from others. I was really living life to its fullest while those well-rested and cheery people around me were only skating on the surface.

The big problem with the cult of individuality is that it�s based on the idea that most people are living their lives badly. What a pointless and unhappy belief that is. It�s kind of rude, too. I�m not saying people should accept things they normally wouldn�t for the sake of conforming -- just that it�s a waste of time and a sketchy enterprise to force yourself to be eccentric.

I should disclose that these thoughts on individuality are coming on the heels of a series of realizations about my own average-ness. Average-ness is like a lame-ass bar. You don�t want to bother dressing up because nobody cool will be there. Then you realize, hell, I�ll be there, and I�m cool, so who�s to say who else might show up?

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004