C l e a n

Not drinking.
Different // Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2002

I realized something important last night while brushing my teeth. As usual, I was searching my mind for reasons to continue with the sobriety project. Why am I doing this, again? Usually I tell myself that my life is so much better without drinking. Lately that has begun to sound a little hollow. Not that my life isn�t better -- it is, in a myriad of ways, but many of them are subtle and hard to realize. My memories of hangovers and post-bender depressions are fading. I can�t help feeling like in some more obvious ways my life is now worse. I mean, I can�t drink! And I can�t pretend my social life hasn�t suffered. I�ve been worried that my mantra of life being so much better might not keep me going much longer.

Then I realized the real truth that has helped me get this far and can help me continue. It�s not that my life has been so much better -- it�s that my life has been so unbelievably DIFFERENT. It�s not the same life just without the sauce, but a whole different life. My drinking affected me in millions of ways I wasn�t even aware of. All of my thinking and outlook, including plans for my future and ideas about how I want to live, was tainted by it.

Maybe later I can decide what�s better or not better. For now I barely know what�s what.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004