C l e a n

Not drinking.
Get Over It // Wednesday, Nov. 06, 2002

There�s a new pop song out that I am enjoying. The chorus goes: �Hey! Get-get-get-get-get over it.� I like the idea of just getting over things. I sing the song to myself when I�m running, and it�s very applicable to running problems. �Waah! My knee hurts!� Get over it. �Waah! There�s a big hill coming up!� Well, get over it.

The get-over-it mantra is so appealing. It cuts to the core. It�s pure. I�d love to find a way to apply it to my drinking, but I haven�t been able to.

First of all, I�m not sure what getting over it would really entail in terms of drinking. Would it be getting over talking and thinking and writing about quitting drinking, and moving forward sober, no looking back? Or would it be getting over the whole �recovery� gig, and drinking again?

Second, as I thought about it more, I came to realize the limitations of �get over it.� If the level of the trauma one is supposed to be getting over is significant, �get over it� becomes less tough love and more cruel dismissal. On the other hand, there�s a danger of over-coddling oneself and others, and a dose of �get over it� could clear that right up.

When I first started attending Smart Recovery meetings, someone there half-joked that the best way to quit drinking is to not drink. I like that idea, too, but it falls apart even more quickly than �get over it.� It sounds solid, but when I reach out to grab on, there�s nothing really there.

I suppose all I�m saying here, yet again, is that I wish things were easier and more clear. I guess I�ll just have to you-know-what (hint: starts with a �g�).

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004