C l e a n

Not drinking.
Training // Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003

I did not plan to be in the throes of marathon training when my one-year not-drinking anniversary came around, but I can�t imagine any better way for it to have turned out. My mind is full of sporty thoughts with which drinking is mutually exclusive. That�s handy, because I can tell that this one-year thing could become a huge big deal if I allowed it. I mean, it could become a huge big deal in the �what the hell am I doing� sense rather than the �that�s great� sense. I�m not feeling particularly celebratory at all -- more like alert and suspicious of myself. What am I up to?

I decided that this is a good time to do some rededication activities. I�ll do some of the Smart Recovery recommended reading that I considered too corny a year ago. Guess what? I�m all kinds of corny now. I run around in the freezing cold at 6 a.m. chanting positive self-talk and practicing visualizations of myself completing the marathon. I�m the corniest one in the corn tree.

It�s tempting to think of the marathon as a healing or bridging experience, from my old life to my new life. I mean, in some ways it definitely is. But I don�t want to lull myself into thinking that I�ll pop through the finish line into a world where I�m normal and my problems are solved. The truth is that after the marathon I�ll probably feel a little deflated and depressed and I�ll have a lot of free time. That�s not a good combination. Now is the time to be planning a new project for after the marathon. This time it will be a project that will not involve severe body pain.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004