C l e a n

Not drinking.
Moving // Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003

I�m finally moving. I�m the girl on the train with the unwieldy stack of empty boxes.

I will be sharing a house with the two men who own it and one other renter. My new roommates drink. I saw some bottles of liquor on a tray in the kitchen.

Seeing the liquor didn�t alarm me unduly. I�ve always had access to alcohol. Admittedly, though, I haven�t had it in the house. I�d like to play it off like it�s no big deal but (sigh) I suppose it is, or could be, and I should spend some time getting prepared.

I haven�t told them yet that I don�t drink. I know I need to do it soon. They probably won�t even care. But still, I�m not looking forward to interrupting an otherwise cheerful conversation with those dreaded words, �Just so you know��

I suppose I could make things easier on myself by finding a house where no one drinks. I could also go to AA every night and avoid social events featuring alcohol. But I�ve already decided I�m not going that route. I want to live in the real world. If the real world has a washer/dryer, even better.

One of my new roommates told me I �gave off a really good energy.� That is a perfect example of the kind of thing I would have found corny in the past. But now I'm really pleased to hear it, and what's more, I think it's probably true.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004