C l e a n

Not drinking.
Cancelled // Friday, Mar. 21, 2003

They cancelled my marathon. It�s awful. I cried.

You may be thinking, duh, of course they cancelled it, and I should have known. Well, it�s not like the thought never crossed my mind, but I was reassured by the e-mails the organizers kept sending out insisting that they wouldn�t cancel it. They sent one the day before they cancelled it! They made the announcement four days before the race.

I�m going to run it anyway. I�ll pick my own, more interesting course, and I will come in first place. My sister and I will still have our marathon celebration and Oscar red carpet party afterwards, even though the red carpet is cancelled too.

Some weeks ago I was thinking that I should practice being more flexible. Well, I�m getting my practice. I think I�ve shown myself to be adequately resilient. Every schedule change and every break in routine represents a chance for me to ask myself: do I want to use this as an excuse to drink? Though I�m not sure I actually ask myself anymore � more like I recognize the point at which I would have asked (and answered with a �yes�) in the past. It�s important to be familiar with my own fault-lines.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004