C l e a n

Not drinking.
Conversation // Sunday, May. 25, 2003

Me: Oh, poor me, I am so miserable. It's summer, and all the kids are skipping around drunkenly, from the patio happy hour to the rooftop happy hour. But I don't got no friends and I ain't havin' no fun.

Me: Hmmm.

Me: What should I do?

Me: Well, it's obvious, isn't it? If you're so miserable, start drinking again.

Me: I can't do that.

Me: Why not?

Me: I just can't.

Me: I'm starting to think that the only reason you're still sober is you're stubborn and you're unwilling to fail.

Me: So?

Me: Well, it's not the best motivation.

Me: Oh, there's other reasons. You know that. And even though quitting drinking is the indirect cause of my loneliness, starting up again won't solve the problem. It's too late to get my old friends back and who knows what fresh trash I'd pick up while bending my way across the city.

Me: So you're screwed then.

Me: Yes.

Me: But didn't your new roommates invite you to a party? Maybe you can meet some people there.

Me: Yeah. But it's a cocktail party.

Me: So what? You can deal. Besides, it's a cocktail world.

Me: That is so true.

prev // next

recently:
Visitation - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004
Tired of This - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Watershed - Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004
First Date - Friday, Apr. 23, 2004
Online Dating - Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004